top of page


St. George Syro-Malabar Catholic Church in Paterson was previously known as Garfield Mission. On May 1, 2004, Garfield Mission was formed at Our Lady of Sorrows Church, New Jersey, after merging two Mass Centers - New Milford and Dumont. Fr Joy Alapatt was appointed as the first Mission Director who served with great leadership and vision for almost a decade. In September 2011, he was transferred to Chicago and Fr Paul Kottakal was appointed as the Mission Director of the Garfield Mission. After 2 years of leadership, he was transferred to Oklahoma City on November 30th, 2013 and Fr Jacob Christy Parambukattil was appointed as the Mission Director. It was under Fr Jacob Christy’s leadership that a suitable church was found and it was purchased on October 31st, 2014, as the fulfillment of the long-cherished dream of the community of having a church of its own. The church was consecrated on December 21st, 2014, and it was elevated as a parish - with Fr Jacob Christy Parambukattil appointed as its first vicar and the church renamed as St. George Syro-Malabar Catholic Church, Paterson. After 5 years of service, Fr. Jacob Christy was transferred to Coppel Texas on February 05, 2019, and Fr. Thomas Mangattu VC was appointed as the Vicar of the parish. After serving for almost 5 years, he was transferred to Raleigh, North Carolina on September 14, 2023. Currently, Fr. Simmy Thomas Alumchuvattil is the Vicar of the Parish. The parish hosts several events and activities for all age groups: kids, youth, young adults, and the older generation. At present, there are 199 families registered in the parish and the parish is flourishing with more than 899 members and with more than 200 students in faith formation.

Church Leadership


Pope Francis

Head of the Catholic Church


Mar Raphael Thattil

Major Archbishop of the Syro-Malabar Church


Mar Joy Alappatt

Bishop of St. Thomas Syro-Malabar Catholic Diocese of Chicago


Fr. Simmy Thomas



Sebastian Tom



George Sabu Thomas



Albein Thomas


bottom of page